Ergonomics and Usability

From our viewpoint, ‘ergonomics / usability developments’ in medical design are distinguishable from User Interface / Graphical User Interface projects in that they are primarily mechanical “human machine” interfaces.

  1. These may be small parts such as Luer screws or handles for peripheral IV catheters (two-finger grips).
  2. For example, handles for manual surgical instruments, handles for trolleys and OR lighting (hand grips).
  3. All products involving the whole user and/or patient, such as OR tables, rehabilitation robots or wheelchairs.

Certainly, there are also transitions between ergonomic developments and User Interface / Graphical User Interface tasks, such as an RF switch on a laparoscopic instrument. Although it is an electric switch, it is guided by overall physical aesthetic and purpose so that it is not a separate panel, for example as is the case with the front side of an RF generator.

Ergonomics and usability in medical design

The ergonomic and usability development of products in medical design and laboratory technology is, of course, a principal focus of our project work. Safety and reliability of use are of the utmost priority. It’s not without reason that we devoted so much to this aspect of development from the outset at Held+Team. Our design takes into consideration what we have learned over time and what has been verified in user tests. After years of project experience, we have acquired a differentiated know-how in medical design, particularly on all manual instruments of the above-mentioned groups 1 and 2. Know-how, which certainly has an impact on further medical design projects. It ensures that many “detours” can be avoided as these have been identified as non-productive in former user tests. This applies especially to questions of how to conform the degree to which users are accustomed to an existing means of operation with a new, optimized method of operation. Incorporating too many new aspects could overtax or unsettle users, which threatens safety when operating. Long learning periods of usability and ergonomics for new operations are also deemed negative with regard to the effectiveness of usage. Therefore, established ergonomics are usually a compromise between the current operation technique and a ‘new’ ergonomic / usability solution. We have developed numerous projects for the 3rd group as well. From complex physiotherapy devices with integrated robotics via OR microscopes and stands to OR tables and ceiling supply units.

Visual design for improved usability / ergonomics

Despite extensive experience, visiting and repeatedly observing the user is the starting point for nearly every new project. We take photos and record videos and then perform an evaluation. International ergonomic and usability databases are inspected and used. Initial studies are commenced, which are usually based on manually-created models. These rather rough models may already be used to survey users. Long before work is taken up in the CAD, statements are available which can determine the general direction of further activity. In the further course, more user tests are conducted through iteratively refined patterns, mostly in Rapid Prototyping. At some point during this process, formal design work begins – the visual design. This date cannot be specified as it depends heavily on the product and the influence of a design on a fixed ergonomic or usability solution. What is important is that we do not put this last, because the visual design must be verified with regard to usability. This process, from the first visit to the user via the “cognitive walk-through” to the final design, is documented by us and processed such that the project team can use it for the usability file (DIN60601-1-6/62366).

Ergonomie und Usability

Ergonomie- / Usability Entwicklungen grenzen sich für uns von User Interface / Graphical User Interface Projekten dadurch ab, dass es sich dabei in erster Linie um mechanische „Mensch Maschine“ Schnittstellen handelt.

  1. können dies kleinste Bauteile wie Luerschrauben oder Griffe für Venenverweilkanülen sein (Zweifingerzufassungen).
  2. z.B. Griffe für chirurgische Handinstrumente, Griffe für Trolleys oder OP Leuchten sein (Handumfassungen).
  3. alle Produkte die den ganzen Anwender und / oder Patienten einbinden, wie z.B. OP Tische, Rehabilitationsroboter oder Rollstühle.

Sicher gibt es auch Übergänge zwischen Ergonomie- und Usability Entwicklungen und User Interface / Graphical User Interface Aufgaben, wie z.B. ein HF Schalter an einem laparoskopischen Instrument. Dieser ist zwar ein elektrischer Schalter. Er wird aber von der physischen Gesamtanmutung und Verwendung bestimmt, bildet somit kein separates Panel, wie z.B. die Front eines HF Generators.

Ergonomie und Usability in der Medizintechnik
Natürlich ist die Ergonomie- und Usability Entwicklung von Produkten in der Labor- und Medizintechnik für uns eine zentrale Aufgabe in der Projektarbeit. Sicherheit und Zuverlässigkeit in der Anwendung haben allerhöchste Priorität. Nicht zuletzt deshalb haben wir vom ersten Tag von Held+Team an diesem Entwicklungsbereich sehr viel Raum gegeben. Unser Design ordnet sich den Erkenntnissen die so gewonnen werden und die in Anwendertests verifiziert wurden unter. Insbesondere bei allen handgeführten Instrumenten der oben genannten Gruppen 1. und 2. haben wir in den Jahren, in unzähligen Projekten ein besonders differenziertes know how aufgebaut. Know how welches natürlich in jedes weitere Projekt einfließt. Es sorgt dafür, dass viele „Umwege“ nicht mehr gegangen werden müssen, da sie in Anwendertests ehemals als nicht zielführend bestimmt wurden. Dies gilt ganz besonders für Fragen wie der Grad der Gewöhnung an eine existierende Bedienungsart mit einer neuen, optimierten Bedienung in Einklang zu bringen ist. Bindet man zu viel neues ein, können Anwender überfordert oder verunsichert sein, was die Sicherheit der Bedienung gefährdet. Auch sind lange Lernphasen für neue Handhabungen im Hinblick auf Effektivität der Anwendung negativ zu bewerten. So ist die gefundene Ergonomie meist ein Kompromiss aus aktuellem Stand der Anwendung und einer „neuen“ ergonomischen Lösung. Aber auch für Entwicklungen der 3. Gruppe haben wir unzählige Projekte erarbeitet. Von komplexen physiotherapeutischen Hilfsgeräten mit integrierter Robotic, über OP Mikroskope und Stative, bis zu OP Tischen oder Deckenversorgungseinheiten.

Einbindung des visuellen Designs
Trotz der weitreichenden Erfahrungen bildet der Besuch und die immer wieder neue Observation des Anwenders, den Einstieg in fast jedes neue Projekt. Fotos und Videos werden aufgezeichnet und von uns ausgewertet. Internationale ergonomische Datensammlungen gesichtet und angewendet. Erste Studien entstehen, üblicherweise basierend auf manuell erstellten Modellen. Schon mit diesen eher groben Modellen können Anwender befragt werden, lange bevor mit der Arbeit im CAD begonnen wird stehen Aussagen zur Verfügung, die die grundsätzliche Richtung der weiteren Arbeit bestimmen können. Im weiteren Verlauf werden durch iterativ weiterentwickelte Muster – meist im Rapid Prototyping erstellt – weitere Anwendertests durchgeführt. „Irgendwann“ in diesem Prozess beginnt die formale Designarbeit – die visuelle Gestaltung. Der Zeitpunkt lässt sich nicht präzisieren, da er stark vom Produkt und dem Einfluss des Designs auf eine gefundene ergonomische Lösung abhängt. Wichtig ist, dass wir diese nicht ans Ende stellen, denn auch das visuelle Design muss in Bezug auf die Gebrauchstauglichkeit verifiziert sein. Dieser Prozess, vom ersten Anwenderbesuch, über den „kognitiven walk through“ bis zum finalen Design, wird von uns dokumentiert und so aufbereitet, dass er vom Projektteam für die Gebrauchstauglichkeitsakte verwendet werden kann (DIN60601-1-6/62366).