Our expertise

Medical design is a broad term which today includes a vast range of services. At Held+Team, the services we offer are focused very narrowly. We have been providing design services for products in the medical design technology and laboratory design technology segment since 1997. We focus solely on the field of medical design technology and generate 100% of our revenue from this segment. As far as we know, this makes us the only company in Europe specializing in the field of medical design to such an extent. Over time, we have gained a wealth of experience in the medical technology field design. This applies to virtually all products available in a modern OR, a large number of products in intensive care units as well as products for the medical technology practices, medical supply stores, labs or the home care market. In other words, we have developed designs from the pacifier to OR ceiling lights, from analytical scales to a robotic walking trainer. However, medical design means not only the formal industrial design of a product but it may also involve software design, usability design or ergonomic design as has become such a matter of course today.

Years of experience in medical design and technology
The wealth of experience in medical design technology represented by our team of employees, now numbering 15, adds up to more than 70 years. This has been gained in the course for work for our customers (e.g. Olympus, B. Braun, Trumpf, Mettler Toldeo, Maquet, Paul Hartmann, Bowa, Heine, Eppendorf), in many cases extending over many years. We provide international and comprehensive support to corporate groups such as Olympus, Maquet or B. Braun. In 2014, we worked for companies in Switzerland, the US, UK, France, China, Russia, Hungary, Ireland and Sweden.
Medical design means offering something very specific to us as a result. Our experience in medical design allows us to start new products or product areas much faster than every non-specialist designer. This is important, for example, in order to know and understand the various requirements resulting from increasing state regulation of development.

Functionality in medical design
Developing our designs is always tied to high formal standards. Results included milestones such as the resectoscope OES 4000 (1997), the first LED OR lights (2005), the smallest blood glucose meter of the world (built into a wrist watch, 2000) or the first OR controls with a tablet computer (2014). Our exceptional know-how is underscored by more than 150 international design awards for medical design technology products.
However, design is never an end in itself. Functionality always takes priority over formal or trendy ‘fantasy’ with designs in the medical technology field. Our undivided focus remains on the recovery or maintenance of the health of patients. In this context, we give top priority to safe and reliable operation of medical design devices based on functionally optimized design.

Market launch of medical design technology (mdt) products
Furthermore, the life cycle of products in medical design can easily amount to 10 years or more. Timeless design is indispensable for such a long period. Ergonomics and usability must also be documented and checked objectively today. For this purpose, we develop alternatives in studies that are checked for quality in cooperation with specialized usability test laboratories and select users. In doing so, working together with our customers, we ensure that the best product possible is prepared for market launch. Increasing cost pressures require our distinctive expert knowledge in the fields of processing and production technologies – for a small series of walking trainers as much as for mass products like disposables in infusion therapy. Design can only be integrated seamlessly in product developments with this expert knowledge – resulting in fast market readiness. Our provision of tool-based data and the constructive development of products with cooperating engineering firms with much experience in medical design help to cover shortages in the R&D departments at our customers. And, not least, customers regularly engage us to conduct studies on the systematic and innovative development of existing and new medical or laboratory applications or processes.



Image © iF International Forum Design GmbH

Unsere Kernkompetenz

Design ist ein weit gefasster Begriff, der heute ein unüberschaubares Angebot an Dienstleistungen umfasst. Im Fall von Held+Team ist die Dienstleistung sehr konkret: Wir bieten Design in der Medizintechnik (Medical Design), das heißt die Gestaltung von medizintechnischen- oder labortechnischen Produkten und dies schon seit 1997. Wir haben uns auf das Gebiet des Designs in der Medizintechnik spezialisiert und erwirtschaften dort 100% unseres Umsatzes. Damit sind wir in Europa nach unserem Wissen der einzige Anbieter mit dieser Spezialisierung und haben uns über die Jahre einen sehr großen Erfahrungsschatz erworben. Dazu gehören alle Produkte, die man in einem modernen OP findet. Sehr viele Produkte der Intensivstation aber auch Produkte für die Arztpraxis, den Sanitätsfachhandel, das Labor oder den Home Care Markt. Anders formuliert: wir haben das Design vom Schnuller bis zur OP Deckenleuchte oder von der Analysenwaage bis zum robotischen Gangtrainer entwickelt. Dabei ist für uns Design nicht nur die formale Gestaltung eines Produktes sondern umfasst auch – und in vielen Fällen gehört dies heute selbstverständlich dazu – das Software-, das Usability- und das Ergonomie-Design.

Langjährige Erfahrung in Medizintechnik Design
Der Erfahrungsschatz im medizintechnischen Design der aktuell 15 angestellten Teammitglieder summiert sich auf über 70 Jahre. Dieser ist entstanden in der meist über viele Jahre andauernden Betreuung unserer Kunden (z.B. Olympus, B. Braun, Trumpf, Mettler Toldeo, Maquet, Paul Hartmann, Bowa, Heine, Eppendorf). Dabei betreuen wir Konzerne wie Olympus, Maquet oder B. Braun international und umfassend – seit 2014 arbeiteten wir zudem für Unternehmen in der Schweiz, USA, UK, Frankreich, China, Russland, Ungarn, Irland und Schweden.
Design ist deshalb ein für uns sehr konkretes Angebot. Durch unsere Erfahrung in der Medizintechnik erleichtert es den Einstieg in neue Produkte oder Produktbereiche sehr viel schneller als jedem fachfremden Designer. Dies ist wichtig um beispielsweise die vielfältigen Anforderungen durch die zunehmende staatliche Reglementierung von Entwicklungen zu kennen und zu verstehen.

Funktionalität im Medical Design
Ein Design zu entwickeln ist für uns immer mit einem hohen formalen Anspruch verbunden. Dazu zählen wir Meilensteine wie das Resektoskop OES 4000 (1997), die erste LED OP Leuchte (2005), das kleinste Blutzuckermessgerät der Welt (verbaut in einer Armbanduhr, 2000) oder die erste OP Steuerung mit einem Tablet Computer (2014). Mehr als 150 internationale Designauszeichnungen für medizintechnische Produkte unterstreichen unser außergewöhnliches Know-How.
Design ist dabei aber nie Selbstzweck. In der Medizintechnik hat Funktionalität immer Vorrang vor formalen oder modischen Gesichtspunkten. Die Wiedererlangung oder Erhaltung der Gesundheit des Patienten steht unangefochten im Mittelpunkt, womit die sichere und zuverlässige Bedienbarkeit medizintechnischer Geräte durch ein funktionsoptimierendes Design oberste Priorität besitzt.

Markteinführung medizintechnischer Produkte
Vor dem Hintergrund, dass der Lebenszyklus von Produkten in der Medizintechnik leicht 10 oder mehr Jahre betragen kann, ist zeitloses Design unabdingbar. Auch muss Ergonomie und Gebrauchstauglichkeit heute dokumentiert und objektiv geprüft werden. Dazu werden von uns über Studien Varianten entwickelt, die in Kooperation mit spezialisierten Usability-Test Laboren und ausgewählten Anwendern auf ihre Qualität überprüft werden. So stellen wir zusammen mit unseren Kunden sicher, dass nur das bestmögliche Produkt zur Marktreife gelangt. Der zunehmende Kostendruck verlangt dabei von uns ein ausgeprägtes Fachwissen über Verfahrens- und Produktionstechnologien – für Kleinserien von Gangtrainern genauso wie für Massenprodukte wie Einmalartikel in der Infusionstherapie. Nur mit diesem Fachwissen lässt sich Design in der Medizintechnik nahtlos in Produktentwicklungen integrieren und trägt so zu einer zügigen kosteneffizienten Marktreife bei. Dass wir dabei auch werkzeuggerechte Daten bereitstellen oder mit kooperierenden Ingenieurbüros, die viel Erfahrung in der Medizintechnik (im Medical Design) besitzen, Produkte auch konstruktiv entwickeln, hilft Engpässe in den Entwicklungsabteilungen unserer Kunden zu überbrücken. Und nicht zuletzt beauftragen uns Kunden regelmäßig mit Studien zur systematischen und innovativen Weiterentwicklung oder Neuentwicklung von medizinischen oder labortechnischen Anwendungen oder Verfahren.



Image © iF International Forum Design GmbH