held+team | Corporate Product Design

Corporate Product Design (CPD)

Service


We have developed a unique approach, through which even complex families of technical products can achieve high visual brand recognition. With our CPD method, you can make the appearance of your brand unmistakable.

  • through detailed analysis and preparation of the current product range and the competitors
  • development of the CPD attributes: visual, tactile and auditory
  • we take care of the global brand management at the product level and accordingly develop individual design guidelines for the hardware, software, packaging, icons, and IFUs of your brand


Held+Team’s Corporate Product Design (CPD – a registered trademark of Held+Team) represents a unique method of enabling a family of technical products, regardless of complexity, to achieve a high degree of visual brand recognition. The structured procedure developed by us comprises much more than the selection of color and a logo position as is the case with traditional corporate design guidelines.

Our proprietary CPD is likewise not restricted to the formal definition of radii, arcs or other formal manifestations, because these only create a unique look in rare cases. The imitation of such simple, formal elements is nearly always possible – without infringing intellectual property rights! Our approach goes much ‘deeper’ – into the functionality of products and product families. How they are handled as well as how they are perceived through the senses of touch and hearing. After a detailed analysis and preparation of a brand’s current product range, we develop a “common denominator” which creates brand recognition and may be systematically complemented with additional features over time.


Visual Branding Development

The result is an image, defined in guidelines, for all products of a brand, including a Graphical User Interface and packaging, of course. In conclusion, the features will represent brand values and strengthen brand recognition over years and decades. A brand is an essential element of the corporate value these days – another reason why this method is important – particularly for complex product programs in medical technology. This method is especially helpful when an acquired company must be visually integrated in an undertaking and thus have to be perceived as “one brand” by customers. For understandable reasons we cannot reveal any more detailed information on our process here. However, experience gathered in the execution of numerous projects has confirmed the meaningfulness of this in each case. More than 50% of our sales volume is generated by the development and support of CPD projects.

Some examples of Corporate Product Design

  • CPD for Olympus (Hamburg) – since 1996 start of the project for surgical instruments
  • CPD for B. Braun Melsungen AG – since 2003 start of the international project for disposable items (infusion therapy and anesthesia), packaging, pharmacological products, dialysis, GUI
  • CPD for Olympus (Tokyo) – 2004 start of the international project for devices, packaging, GUI
  • CPD for X-Cen-Tek GmbH & Co. KG (PAX) – 2006 start of the project for emergency backpacks, bags, web, CD, etc.
  • CPD for Haag Streit Surgical GmbH – 2006 start of the project for OR microscopes and stands, GUI
  • CPD for Bowa electronic GmbH – 2007 start of the project for instruments and generators in the electrosurgery, packaging, GUI
  • CPD for Mettler Toledo GmbH – 2013 start of the project for various laboratory carts, GUI
  • CPD for Maquet GmbH & Co. KG – 2013 start of the project for a complex portfolio from the OR table to the stent, packaging, GUI
  • CPD for Bruker Biospin GmbH - 2017 Start of the project for the visual harmonization of the complex portfolio of NMR, EPR, MR etc. equipment, packaging and interfaces
  • CPD for Heine Optotechnik GmbH - 2020 Start of the project for the visual harmonization of the portfolio for ENT products.

held+team | Corporate Product Design

Corporate Product Design (CPD)

Service


Wir haben eine einzigartige Vorgehensweise entwickelt, bei der eine beliebig komplexe Familie technischer Produkte eine hohe visuelle Markenwiedererkennung erhält. Erreichen Sie durch unsere CPD-Methode, dass das Erscheinungsbild Ihrer Marke unverwechselbar wird:

  • durch detaillierte Analyse und Aufbereitung des aktuellen Produktprogramms und der Wettbewerber
  • Entwicklung der CPD Merkmale: visuell, taktil und auch auditiv
  • wir kümmern uns um das globale Brand Management auf Produktebene und entwickeln dafür individuelle Design Guidelines für die Hardware, Software, Verpackungen, Icons und IFUs Ihrer Marke


Die von uns entwickelte, strukturierte Vorgehensweise umfasst wesentlich mehr als nur die Auswahl von Farbe und Logoposition, die in traditionellen Corporate Design Guidelines definiert werden.
Auch ist das von uns entwickelte Corporate Product Design nicht beschränkt auf die Definitionen von Radien, Bögen oder sonstigen formalen Ausprägungen, da diese nur in den seltensten Fällen zu einer unverwechselbaren Erscheinung führen. Eine Nachahmung von solchen, einfachen formalen Elementen ist fast immer möglich – auch ohne dabei Schutzrechte zu verletzen! Unsere Vorgehensweise setzt deutlich „tiefer“ an, in der Funktionalität der Produkte und der Produktfamilien. Im Umgang mit Ihnen, auch wie diese taktil und auditiv wahrgenommen werden. Nach einer detaillierten Analyse und Aufbereitung des aktuellen Produktprogrammes einer Marke, entwickeln wir einen gemeinsamen „Nenner“, der der Wiedererkennung dient und im späteren Projektverlauf mit weiteren Merkmalen systematisch ergänzt werden kann.


Corporate Product Design: Erscheinungsbild einer Marke

Marke ist heute wesentlicher Bestandteil des Unternehmenswertes – auch deshalb ist das Corporate Product Design so bedeutsam – gerade für komplexe medizintechnische Produktprogramme. Die Methodik des Corporate Product Designs hilft besonders dann, wenn zugekaufte Unternehmen visuell ins Unternehmen integriert werden und als „eine Marke“ für Kunden erlebbar gemacht werden müssen. In der Summe werden Merkmale definiert, die Markenwerte repräsentieren und über Jahre und Jahrzehnte die Markenwiedererkennung stärken. Das Ergebnis unserer Arbeit ist ein in Guidelines festgelegtes Erscheinungsbild für alle Produkte einer Marke, das das Graphical User Interface und Verpackungen natürlich mit einschließt. Aus verständlichen Gründen erläutern wir hier keine tiefergehenden Details der Vorgehensweise. Die gewonnene Erfahrung, die in vielen realisierten Projekten entstanden ist, bestätigt die Sinnhaftigkeit in jedem Einzelfall. Über 50% unseres Umsatzvolumens erzielen wir mit der Entwicklung und Betreuung von Corporate Product Design Projekten.

Corporate Product Design
Beispiele aus der Medizintechnik

  • CPD für Olympus (Hamburg) – seit 1996 Produktdesign für chirurgische Instrumente
  • CPD für B. Braun – seit 2003 Start des internationalen Projektes für Einmalartikel (Infusionstherapie und Anästhesie), Design für Verpackungen und Labeling, Design für Pharmakologie Produkte, Produktdesign für Dialysemaschinen und Zubehör, Graphical User Interface für unterschiedlichste Produkte
  • CPD für Olympus (Tokyo) – 2004 Start des internationalen Projektes für das Produktdesign für Geräte, Verpackungen, Graphical User Interface für unterschiedlichste Produkte
  • CPD für X Cen Tek (PAX) – 2006 Start des Projektes für das Produktdesign für Notfallrucksäcke und Taschen, Webdesign, generelles CD incl. Logoentwurf
  • CPD für Haag Streit Surgical GmbH – 2006 Start des Projektes für das Produktdesign der OP Mikroskope und Stative, Graphical User Interface für o.g. Produkte
  • CPD für Bowa electronic GmbH – 2007 Start des Projektes für das Produktdesign für Instrumente und Generatoren in der HF Chirurgie, Design für Verpackungen, Graphical User Interface für o.g. Produkte
  • CPD für Mettler Toledo GmbH – 2013 Start des Projektes für das Design für Laborwaagen, Analysegeräte und Pipetten, Graphical User Interface für o.g. Produkte
  • CPD für Maquet GmbH & Co. KG – 2013 Start des Projektes für das Produktdesign des komplexen Portfolios - vom OP Tisch bis zum Stent, Design für Verpackungen, Graphical User Interface für unterschiedlichste Produkte
  • CPD für Bruker Biospin GmbH - 2017 Start des Projektes für die visuelle Harmonisierung des komplexen Portfolios von NMR, EPR, MR etc. Geräten, Design der Verpackungen und Graphical User Interface für o.g. Produkte.
  • CPD für Heine Optotechnik GmbH - 2020 Start des Projektes für die visuelle Harmonisierung des Portfolios für HNO Produkte.